Attempting A Working Holiday (Part 2)

This is a follow up from my previous piece, outlining my month working out in Ayia Napa. I don’t think I’ll be able to share absolutely everything as I may be hear forever and you probably don’t want to hear about certain things (am always classy really).

Ambassaden-bar-from-outsideSo my job out in Ayia Napa was PRing for a bar/club. This bar was called Ambassadens. This bar was situated on the busy strip that consisted of all the main bars and clubs. I was very surprised how much I enjoyed the job each night. It was never my intention to PR, I always believed I was going to get a bar job. Unfortunately, everyone had the same plan so there wasn’t many of those positions available. So after a successful trial shift (you have to get a certain amount of people into the bar) I was offered the job. It was great because you got drinks on the job which gave you that extra push to make you approach people. Yes, I was talked down to many times but I kind of expected that, given the sort of job I was doing. I was constantly approaching people, disturbing them as they walked past Ambassadens. Yes, I had times when I didn’t love it so much, mainly when I was finding it particularly hard to gain customers. Luckily, the bar closed early. Well, early out there was about 2.30 am. Pretty much every night after work, I would meet up with my other friends and go out. All the larger bars and clubs would stay open to about 6am so it was very convenient and not to mention messy. Another bonus was that workers all got free entry to the bars and clubs and a lot of the time, complementary drinks. My job ended quite badly though, when I was fined by a police women. Out in Ayia Napa, pretty much every job along the strip was technically illegal. Even PRing and Ticket Selling. The police know it all goes on but obviously like to make a bit of money now and then and unfortunately they have every right to fine people. I was lucky in the sense that my boss paid for me but it didn’t encourage me to keep on working there. The next day I handed my notice in, I just didn’t want to go through all that again. Plus I had just over a week left till my flight so I thought I’d use my last week as a holiday.

Along with being a typical worker abroad (out every night, sitting around the pool every 11215114_10206621906883286_2185587319098195037_nday or sleeping) I took in a bit of Cyprian culture. Me and my flatmates became tourists again. We decided to hire out a private tour guide, who took us beyond Napa, into the Turkish part of Cyprus. Due to the fact it was private, we were taken in a car and not crammed on a busy coach. This gave us more time to see and do what we wanted to. The Turkish part of Cyprus, is illegally inhabited by Turkey after the Turkish Cypriots invaded it in 1974. We visited the famous new town of Famagusta and the Ghost Town of Famagusta in the East of Cyprus. The Ghost Town is of great historical presence. I had never seen anything like it. It was a town, completely abandoned and in utter ruins, left untouched. The historical events that lead to this was the invasion committed by the Turkish Cypriots back in 1974. There had always been tensions between the Greek Cypriots and the Turkish Cypriots and this was when things really took a turn. The Ghost Town of Famagusta used to be a thriving tourist destination. As we were told, it was the largest and popular tourist destination in the Mediterranean at that time. On the 14th of August, tourists and locals had to flee this once thriving town. They left absolutely everything behind.  Locals had to start all over again in terms of their life and businesses. Those who were still there, well, one can only expect the worse. The sight of it was crazy, you could see all the old hotels in utter ruins, with collapsed lifts and broken windows. It was really something you’d expect to see in a film. The reason this area was still the way it was, was that it was and still is preserved by the UN. If anyone broke into the area, they would be shot on sight. You really did get a gloomy feeling of the whole place. The thing I found most disturbing was that you could walk on the beach right in front of all these ruined buildings. The only thing that separated us was barbed wire. There was constant militants patrolling around the area. If you were caught taking a photo of the Ghost Town, you would be shouted at not to by these militants. I know, you’re not even allowed to take photographs. It all seemed pretty tense. Very interesting, but not really welcoming.

MORE TO COME

Leave a Reply

